4 Different Types Of ISO Certification You Should Know About

Colleagues shaking each others hands

As one of the leading ISO registration services, we know how important it is to stay on top of industry standards and certifications in the business world. That’s why we have created this guide to give you a comprehensive overview of the different types of ISO certifications.

From ISO 9001 to ISO 13845 certifications, we have got you covered. Our primary goal is to empower you with the information you need to make an informed decision and choose the ISO certification that will benefit your organization.

Whether you’re a seasoned pro or new to the ISO certification process, let’s dive in and explore different types of certifications.

1. ISO 9001: Quality Management Systems

ISO 9001 is the most widely known quality management system in the world. This certification is an internationally recognized standard. It’s designed to help businesses and organizations meet the quality standard and needs of their customers and other business stakeholders. This certification also ensures that the industry regulatory requirements and statutory services and products are met.

The one thing that ISO 9001 certification focuses on is customer satisfaction. Businesses and organizations with this ISO certification need to have processes that gather and analyze customer feedback and use that feedback to find improvements in their services and products.

Another important aspect of ISO 9001 is that it requires a systematic approach to the management process. Companies are expected to clearly understand their managerial procedures and how they communicate with each other regularly and to use this understanding to identify tasks and manage them. Businesses are also expected to have a monitoring system to measure performance and make improvements.

The standard also emphasizes leadership and commitment from top management. Business leaders must be actively involved in quality management and create a culture that values quality.

Getting certified with ISO 9001 can be a big undertaking, but it can also bring many benefits to an organization. Some of the benefits include:

  • Increased cost savings and efficiency
  • Improved customer satisfaction
  • Improved coordination and communication within the organization
  • Greater ability to win new stakeholders and businesses, particularly with bigger organizations that often require their suppliers to have ISO 9001 certifications

An ISO certification auditor during a meeting with business stakeholders

1. ISO 13485: Medical Devices Quality Management Systems

ISO 13845 is an industry standard that ISO developed to offer guidelines and regulations for the development, design, and implementation in the medical device industry. This standard is specifically designed to help medical industry businesses create safe, easy-to-use, and reliable devices.

This standard is based on ISO 9001 QMS certification, but it’s specifically customized for the medical device industry. This includes regulations and guidelines for design control, risk management, and post-market surveillance. This certification also requires businesses to have proper documentation for the design and development of medical devices.

· Design Control

This aspect of ISO 13845 certification ensures that companies take the necessary steps to control the design and development of their medical devices. This includes requirements for testing, documentation, and validation of the design and development process.

· Risk Management

Risk management is an essential aspect of the standard. It ensures that businesses take the necessary steps to find opportunities and identify and mitigate risks associated with their medical devices. This includes assessing the potential risks associated with a device and finding ways to minimize or eliminate those risks.

· Post-Market Surveillance

This aspect of the certification ensures that companies are ensuring that the performance of their medical devices is being monitored once the devices are on the market. This includes guidelines for reporting adverse events and conducting post-market surveillance studies, and addressing these issues in the aftermath.

A person holding a medical device

1. ISO 14001: Environmental Management Systems

This ISO certification is for an environmental management system, and it’s recognized internationally. It offers a guideline for organizations to identify, evaluate and control the environmental impact of their services, products and activities. This standard enables businesses to minimize the negative environmental impact and improve their carbon footprint.

One of the most prominent benefits of implementing this standard is that it helps organizations reduce their environmental liabilities and risks. Organizations can reduce the likelihood of harmful environmental accidents and related costs by managing and identifying these risks. This ultimately allows organizations to comply with environmental regulations and avoid penalties and fines.

Another benefit of this certification is that it improves a company’s credibility in the eyes of its customers and stakeholders. Implementing an EMS demonstrates that a company is committed to improving environmental sustainability. This will ultimately help businesses gain new customers and attract stakeholders more inclined towards their environmental responsibility.

2. ISO 45001: Occupational Health And Safety Management Systems

The ISO 45001 certification enables businesses to identify and manage risks and hazards proactively and systematically. This can help them prevent accidents and injuries and protect their employees from harm. This standard also encourages continuous health and safety performance improvement, encouraging organizations to review and update their systems to ensure they remain effective.

One of the key benefits of this certification is that it allows organizations to comply with regulatory and legal requirements related to safety and health. The framework of this standard is similar to the ISO MQS standard, which makes it easier for this standard to integrate with existing systems such as ISO 14001 and ISO 9001. This can help simplify the process of achieving compliance and reduce the overall resources and costs required.

A person writing on a contract

Are you looking to get affordable ISO registration services? If so, you have come to the right place. At International Quality Certifications, we can help you acquire ISO certifications in no time. Our certifications include the following:

  • ISO 9001
  • ISO 13845
  • ISO 45001
  • ISO 45001

Our certification auditors will collaborate with you and perform an extensive audit to help you become ISO certified without hassle.

Contact us today to learn more about our services.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Post